…And She Laughs at the Days to Come…

A week back into homeschooling after a wonderful break!  After New Years, I have to admit it was a little boring just waiting for school to start again, and after a week back, I can’t believe how busy the week was!  I didn’t even get everything done that needed getting done… (Like that ever happens!).  I am still satisfied with all that did get done, and am now starting on a list for the coming week.

When I find that I can’t get everything done in a day, I make a list in the morning of the 5 MOST IMPORTANT things I need to accomplish in the coming day.  This helps me to focus.  The next morning, I look at my list and pat myself on the back for the things I accomplished.  The things that didn’t get done, go on my new list for the day, and I’ll add more until I again have 5 MOST IMPORTANT things to accomplish.  This list really helps me to see that I do get things done, and by the end of the week I can proudly look at my successes.

Who can ever get everything done in a day???  That’s why God gave us 365 DAYSSS!!!!

When I just found out I was pregnant for my second child (I now have 11!), I was sitting on the couch holding my tiny 5 month old daughter, and I started to hyperventilate.  I was wondering how I’d be able to handle 2 children when the one seemed to take up so much energy (little did I know!).  Then I realized that my firstborn would be almost 9 months older by then, and would continue to age (it’s amazing what we can forget when panic sets in) and that God would not give me more than I could handle.  I opened my bible to see if God had a scripture for me and this is what He gave me:

Proverbs 31 verse 25          … AND SHE LAUGHS AT THE DAYS TO COME.

I copied this verse onto a cue card and stuck it on the front of my fridge; and there it stayed for many years.  And even though it’s no longer on the front of my fridge, it is often at the front of my mind.  There’s nothing life can send my way that can’t be dealt with, with God by my side.  The days I forget to laugh are the days that are hard.  But I say – Bring it on!  I can handle it!  I am a survivor!

And I laugh.  And I have peace.  And I have joy.  And I have love.  Thank you, Lord!

So my list of the 5 MOST IMPORTANT things I need to accomplish tomorrow will be on my desk in the morning (did I mention my desk is in the bathroom?  Wait, that’s another story…):  homeschool goal for the day (week), cooking goal for the day (week), appointments, errands, business goal for the day (week), etc. … then I’ll hopefully have some ME time.  I try to start my day and end my day with some ME time.  More on that later.

Gotta go, the kids are in a broomball tournament this weekend and another game starts in less than an hour!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

