Purpose Driven

The Purpose Driven LifeThis past week I was studying Luke 7 with my Bible Share Group, and I had a challenge that came out of these verses…

44 Turning toward the woman, He said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I entered your house; you gave Me no water for My feet, but she has wet My feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You gave Me no kiss; but she, since the time I came in, has not ceased to kiss My feet. 46 You did not anoint My head with oil, but she anointed My feet with perfume. 47 For this reason I say to you, her sins, which are many, have been forgiven, for she loved much; but he who is forgiven little, loves little.” 48 Then He said to her, “Your sins have been forgiven.” 49 Those who were reclining at the table with Him began to say [a]to themselves, “Who is this man who even forgives sins?” 50 And He said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

I want to be this woman who “loved much.” My challenge was to be renewed in my relationship with Jesus. My relationship is good, but I want it to be better. However, I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to go about this, except to be more “aware” and through awareness hopefully find something that was already there that could give me a new outlook. Our priest also was talking about how important it is to take a retreat, even if it is a retreat in our own home if we can’t get away.

God has given me this retreat in the form of a book that I’ve owned for many years yet I’ve never read. I also own multiple copies and thought that it would be a great book to study during Lent. It is a 40 day study, and I thought it would be a great study to do with my older children. Because I wanted to study it with my kids, I decided to read it before Lent to prepare… and it is exactly what God wanted to say to me right now! He already prepared me to receive it’s message! I love God’s perfect timing.

The Purpose Driven Life – What on Earth am I Here For by Rick Warren has been inspirational to me to say the least. I now know that I don’t have to change anything I’ve been doing, I only need to be reminded of WHY I am doing what I am doing. WHY I’m raising 11 children, WHY I’m homeschooling, WHY I seek to share Jesus with all those around me, WHY I love to read a good novel, cook a good meal, watch a good movie… it’s because of my PURPOSE in life. My PURPOSE is to know, love, and serve God – to consecrate myself to my God and His Son Jesus, to allow myself to be filled with His Holy Spirit so that everything I do is in worship of Him. To go through my day with this purpose in mind will change the way I see people, the way I do things, the way I react to situations. I will be filled with joy and peace – even more than now. I was created for by God for His pleasure. REAL WORSHIP IS ABOUT FALLING IN LOVE WITH JESUS.

Falling in love means I want to spend every waking moment I can with Jesus, I think about Him all the time, everything I do will reflect the love I have for Him, I want to talk about Him all the time, until all those around me know of this great love I have – and even strangers will be able to see that there is something special in my life from the “glow” I have.

That is my desire… and I haven’t even finished the book! I can’t wait to get back to it… after I finish making chocolates, making supper, eating and cleaning up… and before heading off to broomball and then getting the kids ready for bed… then I’ll read a little more… then early in the morning after my walk…

Leave a Reply

