Mom’s Sanity Hour +

I live in a busy household.  The day is filled to the brim with activity, and when I go to bed at night – no matter what time it is – there is still someone else up.

When the kids were little I’d put them down for a “quiet time” in the afternoon, or as I liked to call it “Mom’s Sanity Hour.”  Now the kids are older and stay up all day.  There is, however, still a time of day I like to call my own…in the wee hours of the morning.

I have a ritual to my morning (a good morning, that is) and this is what it looks like.

1.  Prayer – This is the single most important thing I can do for my day.  It helps me to turn over the problems from the day before, it gives me courage to face today, and it reminds me that I am not alone.  It is a horrible feeling to feel alone while surrounded by people, but it happens to all of us.  God never leaves my side, and Jesus is my Teacher.  My favourite prayer at this time of the day is my rosary.

2.  Exercise – If this doesn’t happen first thing in the morning, it probably won’t happen at all.  Nothing intense, just walking for an hour, if possible, and at this hour it is possible most mornings.  I join my praying and my walking together though, and it makes each of them even more enjoyable.

3.  Family Prayer – 4 to 5 days a week I gather the kids around me and we pray a rosary together.  I try to live a famous quote that Fr. O’Brien was fond of sharing “The family that prays together stays together.”  Sometimes my husband is able to join us too and at these times, looking over my family, my heart fairly sings for joy!

4.  Me Time – While the kids have breakfast, I take a nice hot bath and read.  Often I’ll read an inspirational book that I’m studying at this time or the Bible – something to give me zeal and help me to become a better Christian, a better wife, a better mother, a better friend, and a better me.  I’ll also make a list at this time of what I need to accomplish this day – schedules, menus, business – so that I can check off the list as the day goes on.  I’ll have a nice breakfast of fresh fruit to start my day off filled with vitamins and nutrients.

This all happens before 9am so that schooling can begin.  With this foundation set, I am ready to conquer whatever comes my way…and if not, I just make a quick retreat and pray again so that I’m ready to go again.  Thank you Lord Jesus for my mornings with You.  Help these mornings to draw me closer to You all day long.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

