Rosary Reflection: The Visitation

Mary visits her cousin Elizabeth.  Mary is young and newly pregnant.  Elizabeth is older, having waited and waited to get pregnant.  Mary goes to help Elizabeth and also goes as an unwed expecting mother to get support from Elizabeth who replaces Mary’s mother’s role at this time.  Her whole life was now focused on Jesus and, like all good mothers, she made sacrifices for the good of the child growing within her.

At their meeting, the child in Elizabeth’s womb leapt for joy and Elizabeth cried:

“Blessed are you among women,

and blessed is the fruit of your womb.”

Luke 1: 42

Lord God, send me also support during my troubled times.  Thank you for family.  I ask for boldness in serving.  Thank you for Mary’s shining example to me.  Mary, help me to make the necessary sacrifices in my life so that Jesus can grow in me too.

Leave a Reply

