Thankful for Homeschooling

booksThis is in response to another mother’s blog about beginning their homeschooling journey.

I have been homeschooling for about 20 years now, and people usually assume it’s difficult, but it isn’t for us. But that’s all my kids have known. I see how that makes a difference after reading what she shared. When I say it is not difficult, I don’t mean that we haven’t had our struggles to overcome – focusing on book learning when the computer or tv are on for a younger or older family member, chasing a child out of the bathroom who is holed up with a book or ipod, keeping on top of the work the older kids are doing independently because, hey, we all get lazy at times, bullying (even mildly) a sibling – but I’m sure these are all things we’d be dealing with anyways, irregardless of homeschooling. She has shown me that I shouldn’t take for granted that my children listen and respect my opinion (and I’ve learned to admit when I’m wrong or don’t know), that I have the authority at home to choose the subjects we’ll learn or the material we’ll cover, that my children usually get along and are each others’ best friends, even if only for a season, that I don’t look forward to escaping from my children on a daily basis….

I love being with my children and finding new ways to spend time with them. Homeschooling is the way I have chosen to do that. Homeschooling is not about giving our kids a better education (even though we do), it is about preparing for life (just like those in “school”) but we journey together, grow in “community” and keep God front and center in our day to day activities – including our book learning.

Leave a Reply

