The Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God

What better way to celebrate a new year than by celebrating Jesus and His Mother!  Good morning, Mary – my Mother and my Saviour’s Mother!  What an awesome thought…I share the same Mother as my Saviour.  But today I still think of Him as a little baby wrapped in swaddling clothes, held close by His Mother, comforted by Her and nursed by Her.  Such an intimate image, and so reassuring.  I know that I can expect to be held close and protected by Mary also.

Last night, while praying and meditating on today’s Feast, I was filled with a sense of peace, and I believe that peace is Mary’s theme for me this year.  And trust me, this is something I’m really looking forward to.  Peace – peace in my relationship with God and Mary, but especially peace in dealing with the conflicts that arise in our family life.  God has plans for me this year and I can already see changes happening.  And I want to be used by Him to bring about change and to share Him with those around me, to be His instrument, molded by Mary.  I am Her slave.   As Her slave I can empty myself and trust Her, so that She can mold me and God can use me.   With this trust will come the peace promised to me.

On December 8, 2014, I recommittted myself to Mary through a total consecration to Mary through Jesus, as taught by St. Louis Marie de Montfort.  I look forward to putting his teachings into practice and learning more about Mary as I let go of myself more and allow Her to fill me and use me.  Her will, not mine.  And Her will is in union with God’s will, so I will draw closer to Him and see Him and His plans more clearly, through Mary’s eyes and heart.

Please pray with me and for me, for a greater trust and more peace.

Happy New Year!mary-mother-of-god

 

Leave a Reply

