How Blessed I Am!

2014 071Eleven of these kids are mine.  Four others belong to them – and my family grows.  Oh – and my first grandchild…what a special place of honour she will forever hold in this family.  How blessed I am.

Anyone with teenagers knows that there are times when we want to pull out our hair and scream.  I am filled with joy and pride in my crew when I can see them with God’s eyes and look beyond their struggles…because it really is about them.  I want to protect my babies from making mistakes and from pain, but I would be cheating them out of learning the valuable lessons that God is teaching them.  It is a fine line between letting them learn and allowing them to self-destruct.  It’s my job to prevent the latter, if they will allow me, and guide them in the former.  What a constant juggling act!  How blessed I am.

Mother’s Day is a time for me to reflect on being a mother.  Of course the job description is endless.  I am teacher, chef, housekeeper, nurse, chauffeur, consoler, cheerleader, guidance counsellor, activity programmer, friend, law enforcement officer, artist, employer…to name a few.  So how does a person handle the job, being on call 24/7, with the incredible task of molding tiny individuals into contributing members in society?  One way…by the grace of God!  How blessed I am.

My mornings start with prayer.  My days are filled with prayer.  My days end in thanksgiving.  I KNOW that my strength comes from God and I am humble enough to turn to Him.  Could I do this without Him?  Probably, but why would I want to?  Life is hard enough already and I’m willing to accept help and guidance, just like I want to provide for my children.  And what better mother to model my life after than Mary, the mother of my Saviour and my mother?  Thank you dear Mother.  I love you more than life itself.  How blessed I am.

So Mother’s Day is a chance for me to celebrate being a mother…I am ready for my kids to shower me with love, with thanks and with gifts.  I am grateful for a chance to spend time with them since they don’t all live at home anymore.  I am ready to celebrate being a mother by serving my family today – by being a teacher, chef, housekeeper, nurse, chauffeur, consoler, cheerleader, guidance counsellor, activity programmer, friend, law enforcement officer, artist, employer…to name a few.  How blessed I am.

olive shoots

HOW BLESSED I AM!

Leave a Reply

