Empty Rooms but a Full Heart

Hi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11, and Grandmelina to 2!

Yesterday I got a call from a 2 1/2 year old.  After a little coaxing, I had a conversation about jumping on the bed.  It lasted approximately 2 minutes before my granddaughter hung up the phone.  And her mom had no idea the rascal had actually made the call before she retrieved her phone from the little thief.  A blessing and a laugh – God is good.

I’m sitting here this morning at my computer listening to the birds chirping outside and the odd car driving by.  But what I miss most on these quiet mornings is the sound of little feet and little voices.

It is almost a month since my 2 granddaughters and their parents have moved on.  After living with us for almost a year and a half, their absence is keenly felt.  No little hugs and kisses on a daily basis, no other woman in the house to share parenting adventures with, no other man in the house to share laughter with…and 4 empty spots at the table.

The day they moved out, I stood in their empty room upstairs.  I stood in the silence and felt the loss.

But new adventures await as God calls us on, for them and for us.  As each of our kids move on, we feel the loss and rejoice in their decisions.  Even though the rooms are empty, my heart is still full.

Leave a Reply

