Pumpkin Pie (with Gluten-Free Option)

pumpkin-pie

source

Hi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

It is our church’s Harvest Supper today and I am bringing pumpkin pie.  Twenty-three years ago, when I was asked to bring my first pies to the Supper, I had never made my own pie shells but had watched my mom do it many times.  It couldn’t be that hard, right??

Now I know it’s not, but that first year, and for many years afterwards, I struggled with it.  Too much water or not enough water, too much kneading, ripped then patched-together dough…I could make bread, how come I couldn’t make pie crust??

One year my husband rushed into the kitchen after I had let out a blood-curdling scream. Instead of finding me cut and bleeding, instead he found me crying with dough stuck to the walls.  Yup, not a pretty sight.  He led me out of the kitchen and took over the pie making.  And that’s what he did for many years, and he still usually makes our pies for the Harvest Supper, Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter.  But not always.  As for me…

This year I used frozen pie shells, with homemade filling.  Still tasty, and mostly homemade.  I have mastered the art of pie crust making…but often take the lazier (and still tasty!) way out. Life has enough stress already, wouldn’t you agree??

Here’s our family’s favourite recipe!  Enjoy!

Pumpkin Pie

Makes 2 large pies.

  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. mace
  • one 28 oz. can pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups 10% cream or whipping cream, or a combination of the two
  • two 9″ pie shells (homemade or frozen) (or skip the pie shells for the gluten-free option)

With electric mixer on low, blend together brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, mace and pumpkin.  Add your eggs, mixing well.  Blend in the cream.  Pour your mixture into the ready pie shells.  Place the pies (and ramekins) on the bottom rack in the oven (I like to place them on a cookie sheet in case of overflow) and bake at 450 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 minutes, then reduce the temperature to 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 25 minutes more or until firm and crust is well browned.  A knife inserted into the center of the pie should come out clean.  The pie will often crack near the center when it is done.  Serve with whipped cream or ice cream, if desired.

GLUTEN-FREE OPTION:   Instead of using pie shells, or if I have too much pumpkin mixture for my pie shells, I like to pour the mixture into greased ramekins.  It makes a tasty, gluten-free option.

4 Comments

    Trackbacks

    1. Christmas Baking 2016 – COCONUT MACAROONS (Gluten Free) | musings by melina
    2. Christmas Baking 2016 – RAISIN OATMEAL COOKIES | musings by melina
    3. Christmas Baking 2015 – Gumdrop Cookies | musings by melina
    4. Christmas Baking 2015 – Shortbread Cookies | musings by melina

    Leave a Reply

