Eliminating Candida – the Diet

salad

Hi!  My name is Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Now that I have done a 3 Day Cleanse,  I’m ready for the next stage of my fight against Candida.  Yeast is a tricky thing to get rid of but I have found the keys are education, dedication and willpower.

Learning as much as you can about the fight against yeast, what it does and how to get rid of it, is important.

Yeast grows when you feed it.  So you have to starve it.  There are foods you need to avoid, especially sugar, but also anything high in carbohydrates.  Our bodies convert carbs into sugar which is why we need to avoid them.  So as well as sugars, we also need to avoid fruit, grains and starchy vegetables.  Check out this more complete list of foods to avoid.  Don’t worry though, there are still lots of foods to choose from. Keep reading.

As well as starving the yeast, you also need to kill it off.  For this you would take anti-fungals. I’ll be taking coconut oil and oregano oil.

But of course you need to add in probiotics as well.  Probiotics crowd out the Candida yeast and replace it with good bacteria.  Probiotics come in capsules and are easy to implement into your daily regime.  Fermented foods, such as yogurt, are also probiotics and are recommended to eat on the diet.  Eventually the good bacteria will win and the Candida will be gone, IF you also change your diet.

Now for the list of foods to eat.  There are quite a few foods on the list, but it does take dedication and willpower to stick to only these foods. The stricter you are with the diet, the sooner you will see results and the sooner you can start introducing new foods.  Every time you introduce a “maybe” food from the list, check to see how it makes you feel.  You should totally avoid that “maybe” list for at least 2 weeks, but more probably longer.  Some noticeable symptoms will include gas and belly swelling.  Listen to your body.  It will let you know. Yesterday we had a gathering at our house for supper, and even though I didn’t eat grains or desserts, I did eat meatballs with sugar in the sauce, cheese, and a few slices of raw apple. Before bed my husband commented that my belly looked swollen.  A clear sign that these were not good for my diet.

The more you cheat the longer your recovery will be, so I strongly recommend being very strict with your diet.  You don’t want to have to start all over again.  You can do this!

I plan to keep a pot of soup on the go, made with bone broth, vegetables and chicken.  As well as soup, I plan to eat a lot of salads and raw veggies.  I don’t eat eggs because I don’t tolerate them, but if you can, keeping hard boiled eggs in the fridge are also a quick snack to fight hunger.  Suppers will consist of meat and veggies.  Snacks will include some nuts and raw veggies. And drink LOTS and LOTS of water or herbal tea.

Besides diet, for the first couple of weeks I will take probiotics 4 times a day to really flood my system – upon waking, just before lunch, just before supper, and just before bed.  After that I will just take them twice a day.  I will take a tablespoon of coconut oil mid morning and mid afternoon.  Around 8pm I will take oil of oregano.  Upon waking, I will also take a tablespoon of olive oil and a tablespoon of lemon juice in a glass of warm water to gently flush my liver.  I will make salad dressings with olive oil and lemon juice. Before bed I will also take a high fibre, psyllium drink to help flush away dead yeast cells.

Read more about how long each stage should last here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

