Garlic Spare Ribs

garlic-spare-ribs

Hi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

My mom made this recipe when we were growing up, and she got the recipe from my Auntie Joyce.  Some of my kids will request this meal for their birthday.  I like to serve it with rice.

Being Chinese New year today, I also made a vegetable stir fry and heated some potstickers. For dessert we had 6 varieties of ice cream (our favourite finale at a Chinese buffet).

And of course, I have to quadruple the sauce to cover all our ribs!

I cut up my pork ribs and boil them for 15 minutes.  Drain.  Add them to the Garlic Sauce below.

GARLIC SAUCE for ribs:

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup Cola
  • 2 Tbsp. dry mustard
  • 1/2 cup soya sauce
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • garlic – to taste

Combine all ingredients in a tall pot.  Heat to boiling.  Boil 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat. Add your cooked ribs to the sauce.  The longer you let the ribs sit, the more flavour seeps into them.  Reheat as necessary and serve with rice.

I just found out from Auntie Joyce that after coating the ribs in sauce, she bakes them in the oven for an hour to carmelize the sauce.  I’ll have to try that next time.  My cousin Danny called them candy meat.

Note:  we have different food restrictions in our house, so I changed up the sauce a bit tonight. I used caffeine free cola and eliminated the soya sauce, but added salt.  Still good!

Leave a Reply

